top of page

Crossing the Finish Line

May 6, 2022


The past four years at the University of Wisconsin- Eau Claire have come and gone in the blink of an eye. As a first-generation college student, obtaining a bachelor’s degree is something I’ve always dreamed of accomplishing. In just about 10 days, I can say that I have reached the finish line. All the tears, joys, obstacles, and time spent studying will soon be worth it. The memories and relationships I’ve formed with peers, professors, and mentors are relationships that I will value for the remainder of my life. Needless to say, I am leaving UW- Eau Claire with more than a diploma. I am leaving here as a leader, a post-baccalaureate ready to make an impact on the world with my knowledge and skills, and an inclusive member of society ready to accept people regardless of their race, color, sexual identity, or social class.

One of my greatest accomplishes as an undergraduate was engaging in research and the McNair program. Without the opportunities and insight from the McNair program, I would not be where I am today. Being a first-generation college student, I knew I wanted to conduct research, but I didn’t know how to start. The McNair program walked me through the steps of finding a mentor, how to write a literature review, how to gain professional presence skills, and many other things. I have been fortunate enough to have participated in and presented at research conferences and have even had the opportunity to publish my research. I believe my research experiences have improved my scientific inquiry skills, my professionalism, and my critical thinking skills. Most importantly, my research experiences have strengthened my resume and ultimately improved my chances of getting into graduate school. Needless to say, thank-you to the McNair program for making my dreams possible! This experience has been nothing short of inspiring and influential. To all students who are thinking about joining the McNair program, do it! You never know the opportunities ahead of you.

Here I am right after presenting at the Provost's Honors Symposium! It was truly an honor to be selected to participate in this event!

bottom of page