top of page

My Big News

April 5, 2022


"All Great achievements require time"

The wait is finally over. After over a year in planning, taking admission tests, applying, getting rejected once, applying again, waiting, and more waiting, I am proud to say that I got ACCEPTED. I am thrilled to announce that I will be joining the amazing community of students, doctors, and faculty at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee beginning in August!

At MCW, I will be completing my Master's degree in Medical Physiology. This nine month program is for individuals who wish to attend medical school in the future and who are looking for opportunities to strengthen their academic, clinical, or research skills/knowledge. As a MMP (Master's in Medical Physiology) student, I will be taking the same classes as the first year medical students in the fall, and spend spring semester taking classes with the graduate students. This is such a unique opportunity, because I will be exposed to a plethora of knowledge from different disciplines. Although my coursework is primarily focused in topics related to physiology, I will also be taking ethics, genomics, and research seminar classes. After completion of this program, 96% of graduates matriculate into either a MD or DO program!


What my schedule will look like

My life as a graduate student is about to become even busier! I will be dividing my time between class work, clinical work, and preparing to apply to medical school, so my schedule will be very demanding. The curriculum is very intense and will require many hours studying outside of class. These are the classes I will be taking in the fall and spring semesters:


Fall:

Clinical Human Anatomy

Biochemistry

Genetics

Human Development

Cell and Tissue Biology

General Human Physiology

Current Topics in Physiology


Spring:

Clinical Human Anatomy

Fundamentals of Neuroscience

Physiological Genomics

Ethics and Integrity in Science

Special Problems in Physiology

Current Topics in Physiology


As you can see, I definitely have my work cut out for me! Nevertheless, I am beyond excited and grateful for this opportunity. I look forward to growing as a student, scientist, and person throughout the duration of this program. Although the past year was very challenging with facing rejection, it all worked out in the end. Not every person takes the same route to become a physician. Just because your route is different, doesn't mean it is wrong. This experience has taught me to be patient, humble, vulnerable, and greatful. It is difficult to pick yourself up after falling down (or being rejected in my case), but as long as you have the grit to overcome obstacles, nothing will stand in your way of achieving your goals!

bottom of page