top of page

How to Face Adversity


In life, when we have a dream or a goal, we plan for it. Whether it be planning for marriage, children, education, or even what to do the following day, we plan for the most favorable outcome. But what happens when there's a bump along the way and our plans don't turn out the way we anticipated to? Do we lie down and accept defeat, or do your rise to the occasion? As the famous Michael Jordan once said, "It doesn't matter if you fall down, it matters if you get up." As difficult as it may be, this mentality defines the individual and is essential to succeeding in life.


The journey to medical school is quite strenuous. At times, it feels like you are a needle in a haystack trying to be found. As a pre-med, I plan for an admission committee to find and accept me into medical school someday, but what happens if they don't? Only 7% of people who apply to medical school get accepted, so it's essential to have a plan in the event that I wouldn't be accepted to medical school. Yesterday I received my MCAT score, and I am not confident it is competitive enough. This has lead me to create back up plans. Although I was extremely disappointed when receiving my score and felt as though the entire world crashed down on me, I knew this would not stop me from becoming a physician. Sure it bites to work so hard at something and it not pay off, but it doesn't mean I'm incapable of succeeding. I'm a firm believer that God has a plan for me, and this is part of His plan. My response to this obstacle is to retake the MCAT and to consider a gap year. By taking a gap year, I can gain more clinical experience, conduct research, and shadow more physicians to make my application stand out. Considering these options are not easy, but with the support from loved ones, I know I have the support system I need to succeed.


This bump along the road is a learning experience for me. The best way to overcome adversity is to be transparent with yourself and to attempt to figure out what went wrong and how to do better. For me, I attempted to study for the MCAT in a matter of a month, which was not an adequate time frame. Additionally, I realized I needed to take some upper level biology courses to expand my knowledge in these rigourous topics. Lastly, I realized I need to slow down and enjoy the journey. Instead of rushing to cross things off my checklist, I wish to enjoy the moments and get the most from each situation I encounter. I've learned now more than ever that it is so essential to tap into my personal "why?" I want to be a doctor to help encourage me that these obstacles are normal, and although it may be difficult right now, I know it will be worth it in the long run, because I couldn't possibly image myself in any other profession. The time will come, it is up to me to be patient, persistent, and focused.




bottom of page